The tasks of the Board of Directors and its members

The Board of Directors of the IKV Sponsors’ Association comprises the chairman of the Association, two deputy chairmen and a further four to six board members. The Board is made up of representatives from the raw materials, machinery and plastics processing industries as well as from the skilled crafts and trades. The Rector of RWTH Aachen University is one of the deputy chairmen. 

The Board of Trustees comprises representatives of the public authorities that have a decisive role in running the Institute through the provision of subsidies or other support, and also representatives from science, crafts and trades and the plastics industry. The Board of Trustees must include at least 15 leading figures from the plastics industry.

The tasks of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the Association of Sponsors and is responsible for carrying out the decisions taken by the Association. The Board also administers the Association’s assets. It is similarly responsible for drawing up guidelines for carrying out the work of the Association of Sponsors. It compiles and monitors the budget plan.

The tasks of the Board of Trustees

The members of the Board of Trustees are elected by the general meeting for a term of four years. During this time, they advise the Association on economic matters and support the Board of Directors. One of the key tasks of the members of the Board of Trustees is to maintain relations with representatives of the state, the business world and the industry associations in Germany and abroad who have an interest in the work of the Sponsors’ Association.

Chairmen of the Board of Directors

  • Chairman of the Board of Directors: Dr.-Ing. Herbert Müller, Chairman of the Management Board of Surteco Group SE, Buttenwiesen-Pfaffenhofen
  • 1st Deputy Chairman: Dr.-Ing. Werner Feistkorn, Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
  • 2nd Deputy Chairman: Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. mult. Ulrich Rüdiger, Rector of RWTH Aachen University, Aachen

Other members of the Board of Directors

  • Dr.-Ing. Martin Giersbeck, Vice President - Corporate Research Plastics Engineering, Robert Bosch GmbH, Renningen
  • Dr. Guiscard Glück, Vice President - New Markets and Products, BASF SE, Ludwigshafen
  • Dr.-Ing. E.h. Herbert Kraibühler, formerly Managing Director Technology, Arburg GmbH & Co. KG, Loßburg
  • Dieter Philipp, President of the Aachen Chamber of Skilled Crafts and Trades, Aachen
  • Dipl.-Volkswirt Bernd Reifenhäuser, CEO Reifenhäuser GmbH & Co. KG Maschinenfabrik, Troisdorf
  • Dr. Joachim Simon, Senior Vice President - Business Unit Polycarbonates Global Innovations, Covestro Deutschland AG, Leverkusen

Dr.-Ing. Torben Fischer

Deputy Director of the Institute Contact person Association of sponsors +49 241 80-93823

Have you any questions about membership of the IKV Association of Sponsors? I look forward to hearing from you.

New RWTH rector Ulrich Rüdiger takes over the 2nd Deputy Chairmanship  from Prof. Schmachtenberg.
>> more